Skip to content

SYP Awards 2020

Posted on

On Tuesday 14th April, MSYPs, their Support Workers, and partners across Scotland took part in our virtual version of SYP’s annual awards ceremony. The virtual SYP Awards 2020 was organised in place of an event at the Scottish Parliament, which was cancelled in March due to ongoing concerns with the coronavirus outbreak. SYP would like to thank the line up of brilliant speakers who were keen to celebrate the MSYPs’ hard work and achievements over the past year.

There may not have been a fancy meal or a live band…but MSYPs were encouraged to #StaySmilingInside by dressing up (or down in their pyjamas!), and make a mocktail for the occasion from the safety of their homes. You can check out their engagement on the night by viewing the hashtag #SYPAwards20.

The Ros Clark Support Worker of the Year

Tim Frew, Chief Executive of YouthLink Scotland, announces winner of the Support Worker of the Year. Congratulations to Amy Reynolds, North Lanarkshire!

The Donald MacLeod Award for Exceptional Team Work

Team members of the Young Women’s Movement announced the winner of The Donald MacLeod Award for Exceptional Team Work. Congratulations to North Lanarkshire Youth Council!

Transcript: Hello everybody, we are YWCA Scotland, the Young Women’s Movement. We are excited and honoured to be tuning into the SYP Awards with all of you. We have the pleasure of announcing Exceptional Team Work. This year this award goes to North Lanarkshire Youth Council! The nomination for NLYC gives a great example of how the team has worked together to consult young people and respond to the local needs identified through their consultation responses. By successfully securing young people a place on their local council committee, they have also demonstrated awareness of how to take local issues from their youth consultation to a higher level.

The Local Hero Award

Juliet Harris, Director of Together, announced the winner of the Local Hero award. Congratulations to Rosie Sumsion MSYP, Helensburgh and Lomond!

Achievement of the Year

Former SYP Chair Suki Wan announced the winner of the Achievement of the Year. Congratulations to Erin Campbell MSYP, for their work to support young people’s mental health through their campaign Keep in Mind.

Communicator of the Year

Communications expert Gareth Brown announced the winner of Communicator of the Year. Congratulations to Wiktoria Orlicka MSYP, Motherwell and Wishaw.

One to Watch

Louise Macdonald, Chief Executive of Young Scot, announced the winner of the One to Watch Category. Congratulations Jamie Byers MSYP, Uddingston and Bellshill.

MSYP of the Year – Special Commendation

Bruce Adamson, the Children and Young People’s Commissioner, announced the runner up to MSYP of the Year. Congratulations Sarah Quinn MSYP, Airdrie and Shotts!

MSYP of the Year – Winner

Maree Todd, Minister for Children and Young People, announced the winner of MSYP of the Year. Congratulations to Bailey-Lee Robb MSYP!

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our mailing list to get involved in our projects and campaigns.

You might also like

  • News

    UNCRC (Incorporation (Scotland) Act comes into force

  • News

    MSYPs select new national campaigns

    Image of an MSYP sitting at a table taking part in a panel discussion at an event. Orange tint overlaid with white polka dots in corners.
  • See all articles